Sending a Son To War

Just seemed appropriate for me to reblog this this morning

Rick's Reflections

Sending a Son To War

Tyler Burdette, Iraq…2006

Greetings in the Lord,

I call my article reflections, because most of the time I’m thinking back….reflecting on what God has taught me or is teaching me through past events. It’s these events that help me understand God’s interaction in my life to a better degree. In 2006 I was in Texas at Fort Hood to say good bye to my son Tyler as he was preparing to deploy to Iraq. Tyler would begin this war in Kuwait, but then be sent to Northern Iraq on November 7, 2006. He told us he would be on the second floor of Saddam’s old palace, right in the middle of Baghdad. I’m pretty sure it wasn’t the safest place to be in the world. Tyler was a Calvary Scout, the gunner in a fighting vehicle (the one who sticks out from the top)….he made somewhere around 4,000 missions (sometimes…

View original post 539 more words

Leave a Reply

