We Saw Your Smoke Signal!

burning-hut

Greetings in the Lord,

The only survivor of a shipwreck washed up on a small uncharted island. He prayed constantly for God to rescue him, and everyday he scanned the horizon for help…but none came. Exhausted he finally built himself a hut out of thatch and driftwood to protect him from the elements. He loved his little hut.

But then one day after rummaging around the island for food and fresh water he came home to find that a spark from his cooking fire had sent his little hut up in flames. Everything he had was stored in that little hut. All he could do was watch it be engulfed in flames and go up in smoke.

In anger he yelled at God, “How could you do this to me!? How could you let me lose everything I had!!!?”

Early the next day, however, he was awakened by the sound of a ship approaching the island. It had come to rescue him. The man asked the Captain, “How did you know I was here?” And the Captain replied, “We saw your smoke signal.”

It’s easy to get discouraged when things are going bad. It might even seem that God isn’t listening. But the Apostle Paul wrote to God’s people with this reminder…”All things work together for the good of those who love God and have been called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28)

This promise is for believers…that God is in control…that He is at work in our lives…for the purpose of making us more like His son, Jesus. It’s so easy to become bitter instead of better. Especially during the shipwrecked, hut burning times in our lives. But remember the next time your little everything of a hut is burning to the ground, it may just be a smoke signal that announces God’s rescue ship of grace.

Think about it. It is never easy to do something that requires FAITH…NEVER. When all the kids are fine and well behaved (Pretend it could happen 🙂 When you just got your promotion or raise. While you’re on vacation in Hawaii. When everything is sunshine and roses…you don’t need much faith. Those times are great. But the power of God is found in our weakness. His grace is sufficient in our thorns. You see I’ve discovered I have the tendency to try to be self sufficient. And it’s only when my resources run dry and my hut has burned down that a cry out to God for rescue. I’m trying to learn to depend on God and live in Christ, not just during crisis’s…but during every season of life…but I’ll also be grateful that He’s allowed a few of my self constructed huts to burn down so I can find real rescue in His grace…Aren’t you?

Sending up smoke signals.

Rick

One thought on “We Saw Your Smoke Signal!

  1. Stephanie Nicholson says:

    I don’t know what I would do without your posts. Last Thursday I was unexpectantly discharged from work. You know I have been teaching nursing for 3 years and had thought I had found a place I could call home. It had become a mission field for me. A safe place and not to mention a secure salary. Then it’s gone no warning no reasoning. No disciplinary action no complaints from students. The new director didnt like my personal spiritual touch with the students. Said I didn’t fit into the new culture she was trying to cultivate what ever that means. Filed for unemployment today after they refused to pay me any of my unused vacation time. I did ask God once. Why? Then He said just wait.

Leave a Reply

