Broken handles

Hi All,

 

Like the rest of the United States we’re experiencing some pretty frigid weather in Kentucky.  It’s so cold my wife did that boiling water thrown into the air experiment yesterday….pretty cool.  But those temperatures make plastic brittle and easily breakable…so when I went to get into my 2003 Hyundai Tiburon with 186, 000 miles Saturday morning, the temperature hovering somewhere around -4, I tried to open the door…I knew it would be brittle, but the handle snapped off in my hand with the gentlest  of tugs.  I stood there in my driveway at 4:00 AM holding onto the black plastic handle and thought thoughts that no person should ever really think.  If I had been a cartoon these symbols would have been floating above my head:  @#$#%$#@@#$.

 

Now here’s what makes it a story worth telling, or at least I hope it makes it a story worth telling.  My wife thinks it hilarious, so I thought you might enjoy it as well.  And yes there is a morale.  

 

Get in your Delorean and go back in time with me to last year about this time of year.  It was another very cold day and I was getting ready to take my daughter and 5 year old grandson (The Peanut) to the store.  Karissa and I walked out and Peyton (The Peanut) ran ahead of us, about 20 feet to my car.  He preceded to grab the outside handle of the passenger door and pull on it so he could get in.  And you guessed it…the handle snapped off in his hand before he knew it.  My reaction was:  “Dag gone it!  Peanut!!”  And he started to cry….I ran and scooped him up, hugged him and told him it was O.K.  “PaPaw knew it was an accident.”  

 

So, here’s the morale of the story….God sometimes takes a year to teach you love, grace and patience…(or longer).  Because the first thing I did when I got home from my trip was, grab the broken handle, find Peanut….show him what I had done, and laugh with him as I asked for his forgiveness again.

 

This might be your favorite part of the morale…I know it’s my wife’s…with both outside handles broken off the only way you can get into my tiburon is to open the back hatch and crawl in from behind.  There is no way to do this gracefully.  So, maybe the greatest lesson God was teaching me in the handle fiasco was “Humility,” something of which we all need a dose.  Because I was headed for a funeral….and there is no way you can reverently crawl through the back hatch of a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon!!!!

 

Love you all,

 

Rick

One thought on “Broken handles

  1. Stephanie Nicholson says:

    You are now officially my favorite parable authors.

Leave a Reply

